Community Water Center

Community-driven water solutions through organizing, education, and advocacy

First Annual Water Justice Leadership Awards


We've accomplished a lot together this past year, and the Awards are an opportunity for us to honor key partners in the movement for water justice. We hope you'll join us to honor:

  • Water Justice Lifetime Achievement Award: Jesus Quevedo, Asociación de Gente Unida por el Agua (AGUA Coalition)
  • Youth Leadership Award: Joanna Mendoza, Youth for AGUA
  • Legislative Champion Award: Assemblymember Anthony Rendon
  • Legislative Champion Award: Senator Fran Pavley
  • Human Right to Water Achievement Award: Martha Guzman-Aceves, Governor Brown's Office
  • Water Justice Advocacy Award: Jennifer Clary, Clean Water Action / Clean Water Fund

Felicia Marcus, Chair of the State Water Board, will provide introductory remarks and emcee the evening. Tickets include special Coa Room appetizers, a drink and a donation to support CWC's ongoing work for water justice. Please don't hesitate to reach out to Jenny Rempel ( if the ticket price is a barrier.


Special thanks to our sponsors and host committee!

Premier Event Sponsors: California Association of Mutual Water Companies; Environmental Defense Fund; Natural Resources Defense Council; Teamsters Joint Council 7; Sierra Health Foundation. Water Justice Activist Sponsors: Adan Ortega Associates, Inc.; Rural Community Assistance Corporation. Drinking Water Advocate Sponsors: Sierra Club California; Hernandez Strategy Group; California League of Conservation Voters; Environment Now; The Nature Conservancy. Table Sponsors: Soluri Meserve;  Ecoconsult; Clean Tech Associates; David Corey; Simmons Hanly Conroy, LLC.; Felicia Marcus and Warner Chabot; Miriam Gordon.

Host Committee: AGUA Coalition; Andrew Fahlund, California Water Foundation; Arsenio Mataka, California Environmental Protection Agency; Colin Bailey, Environmental Justice Coalition for Water; Paul Towers, Pesticide Action Network North America; and Phoebe Seaton, Leadership Counsel for Justice and Accountability. (Organizations listed for identification purposes only.)


February 17, 2015 at 5:30pm - 7pm
Mayahuel, 1200 K Street, Sacramento, CA, 95814
Jenny Rempel · · (916) 706-3346
Jenny Rempeltest

Will you come?

$250.00 Table Sponsor
Buy 5 tickets at once - you can use the tickets for your friends or to sponsor our community partners to attend

$100.00 Sponsoring Ticket
1 regular ticket + 1 sponsorship for a community partner to attend the Awards

$50.00 Regular Ticket

$30.00 Student/Low-income Ticket

Related News & Resources

More News